PERCUSSIVE NOTES (U.S.A.), February 2000, p. 67


This recording of original tunes and arrangements in a progressive rock style employs primarily keyboard percussion instruments.  The selections include an arrangement of Rush’s “Jacob’s Ladder,” an original work by Ed Macan titled “Prophesies:  A Suite in Six Movements,” and an arrangement of Emerson, Lake and Palmer’s “Tarkus.”  Macan also performs on the recording, utilizing keyboard percussion (marimba and vibraphone) along with soprano recorder, piano, Hammond organ, bass, and drumset to compete the instrumentation.  Other musicians featured on the recording are bassists Nate Perry and Andy Durham, and Matt McClimon on drumset and percussion.  If you are a fan of progressive rock, you will find Prophesies an interesting and eclectic recording to add to your collection.